My Cart:

0 item(s) - $0.00
You have no items in your shopping cart.


Sinfonietta for Eleven Instruments (Full Performance Set)


Sinfonietta for Eleven Instruments (Full Performance Set)

Product Number: 8760*

Composer: Conte, David

Sku Product Name Price Qty
8760 Sinfonietta for Eleven Instruments (Full Performance Set)
8760A Sinfonietta for Eleven Instruments (Additional Full Score)


Sinfonietta for Eleven Instruments is a transcription of my Sinfonietta which was commissioned by the Atlantic Classical Orchestra, Stewart Robertson, conductor, in 2012. This version was created especially for my 60th birthday concert and was premiered on November 1, 2015, at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music, conducted by Michael Morgan.
The first movement, Overture, is a spirited sonata-allegro, quite classical in form and mood, with dotted rhythms reminiscent of a French overture and containing animated running-sixteenth notes. The accumulation of rhythmic energy in this movement suddenly comes to a halt, as solos in the oboe, clarinet, and bassoon form a transition which leads to the second movement, Elegy. This movement is characterized by a quiet intensity, with a “sighing” motive in the strings, answered by more florid passages in the solo woodwinds. These two ideas are gradually and subtly developed and transformed while moving through many tonalities and arriving at several climaxes. The movement ends with rising woodwind solos. The third movement, Finale, begins with animated figuration arising from the low register of the ensemble, culminating in the announcement of a jaunty, syncopated theme proclaimed by all players. The development of this theme leads to an animated climax that subsides into a second lyrical theme, which is broadly sung by the solo violin. More development follows, succeeded by a long transition built on a steady ostinato. At this point all the various themes heard throughout the movement are combined in counterpoint, building to an energetic coda. -David Conte
Duration: 14:30

Additional Information

SKU (Product number) 8760*
Available Editions Sinfonietta (Classical Orchestra), 8032
Composer/Arranger Conte, David
Voicing & Instruments Chamber Ensemble
Instrumentation Fl., Ob., Cl., Bn., Hn., Tpt. (C), 2 Violins, Viola, Violoncello, Double Bass
Difficulty Difficult
Historical Period 21st Century
Publisher E. C. Schirmer Music Company

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.